In which countries is the CE marking required?

The CE marking is currently required in the following countries:

Countries in which CE marking is required.
Countries in which CE marking is required

1. Austria (since 1995)
2. Belgium
3. Bulgaria (since 2007)
4. Czech Republic (since 2004)
5. Cyprus (since 2004)
6. Denmark
7. Estonia (since 2004)
8. Finland (since 1995)
9. France
10. Germany
11. Greece
12. Hungary (since 2004)
13. Iceland
14. Ireland
15. Italy
16. Latvia (since 2004)
17. Lithuania (since 2004)
18. Liechtenstein
19. Luxembourg
20. Malta (since 2004)
21. Norway
22. The Netherlands
23. Poland (since 2004)
24. Portugal
25. Romania (since 2007)
26. Slovakia (since 2004)
27. Slovenia (since 2004)
28. Spain
29. Sweden (since 1995)
30. Croatia (since July 1, 2013)

Please note:

a) Now that the United Kingdom has left the European Union it requires products to be affixed with the UKCA marking instead of the CE marking. The CE marking will be accepted during a transition period that ends on 1-1-2023.

b) Switzerland is not a member of the European Union, but for some products it accepts the CE marking as a presumption of conformity with Swiss national technical regulations.

c) Turkey is neither member of the EU, nor is considered a part of the EEA. However, Turkey has fully implemented many of the European CE marking directives. This means that for many products they also require CE marking.

If you haven’t done so already…

Subscribe to our newsletter and get articles like this one delivered to your email inbox. We hate spam as much as you do. We will not spam you and keep your contacts confidential. That’s a promise.